Microsoft Phone Interview Tips

September 5, 2006 at 10:42 pm | Posted in Microsoft, Personal | 7 Comments

I wanted to give people some tips for interviewing at Microsoft (or anywhere else for that matter) in order to help them out.

Phone Interview

  • Seclude Yourself. I think it is important to be in a room by yourself without any distractions and little or no noise. If there is anyone else with you in the house, make sure they know not to disturb you.

  • Walk Around. I personally can not sit down while conducting a phone interview. I have to be pacing around. It gets the blood pumping and keeps you sharp and alert. It also makes your voice sound more active (rather than relaxed).

  • Guide the Conversation. Try to lead the interviewer to your positive traits and the things that you want to emphasize. Try to think of answers to common questions, which you can use to your advantage.

  • Be Prepared. Make sure you have a pen and paper handy with you. In a Microsoft phone interview you will more than likely need it in order to do the technical/programming questions. It can’t hurt to have it.

  • Prepare Questions Beforehand. If you have any questions that you think you may want to ask, you should have them prepared beforehand on a paper. I recommend you do try to think of some questions and ask them, because at the very least it shows you are interested in the position. Also, you can use the pen and paper you have prepared to write down the responses.

  • Sound Passionate. Foremost, Microsoft looks for people who are passionate about technology, programming, and development. I think if you sound passionate, have a good technical background and skills that you stand a good shot at making it. If you act or sound indifferent, you may be giving your interviewers the wrong impression.

This post is pretty long, so I will write more later about how I prepared for my interview and what sources I used.

7 Comments

  1. Thanks for the tips Ali, they’re very useful imho and I’ll be sure to keep them in mind for my interview.

  2. No problem and good luck.

  3. This will help me a lot in my MS interview… thanks for the tip

  4. Thanks a lot, it is really helpful!

  5. hi ali i am going to make a phone interview with microsoft next mon day plz i need your help about th kind of question in this interview techniqal and non techniqal questions plz help me or any one know about that can help me
    my mail :nonstop83@hotmail.com
    thanks alot to all

  6. Hi ali i am also going to make a phone interview with microsoft next Thrusday day plz I want to know about what kind of question in this interview techniqal and non techniqal questions. Can you please help me.
    my mail :viralnehal@yahoo.com
    Thanks.

  7. Hi, I have a phone screen with MS tomorrow.It is a team under windows org. Do you know what type of technical/non technical questions they ask? Please help me. I am little bit tensed.

    Thanks in advance.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

