New Employee Orientation (NEO) @ Microsoft

October 3, 2006 at 2:46 am | Posted in Microsoft | 3 Comments

Today I attended my first official day of work at Microsoft. On the first two days of work we typically attend something called NEO which is the New Employee Orientation. Due to room reservation issues though we had it compressed all into one day. So we started around 8.30am and finished at 5.00pm.

Since I am now officially a Microsoft employee, I am required to state that all opinions that are expressed on this blog are solely my own and in no way represent the opinions or views of my employer. They are also pretty cool about blogging. Basically we just use our common sense pretty much. On any hand, I will only talk/discuss/comment on publicly disclosed Microsoft information.

There is a lot to digest during NEO, but it was a great experience. It had me excited to come to work at Microsoft. The main difference I see between Microsoft and other places I’ve worked is that they seem to really care about making the employee happy and satisfied. They try to take care of everything so that we don’t have to worry about it and focus on the job. Of course though, there is a bunch of things that I need to set up during the first month, but then after that it should be smooth sailing.

One cool aspect that I like and am looking forward to is the mentorship program. I’ve never really had a mentor at work. So I hope this will help me out during this first stage of my new career path.

One thing that I thought was interesting as well, when compared to Egypt is that here in the US (and Canada too) you get paid twice a month. Thinking about it, I think this is a better method of paying people as it makes it easier to plan your finances, you don’t have to go long before your pay, and it also gives just this general impression that you are being paid a lot (even though its exactly the same amount).

Tomorrow I will meet with my manager and start with my team, and after tomorrow I should be getting my blue badge which will be cool πŸ™‚

3 Comments

  1. Now you got why MS question answered πŸ˜‰

  2. Hey ali , its great hearing what u do all day, to tell u the truth i read ure blog every morning before i start work. Anyway take care say hi to the wife.

  3. Meshref – I try to avoid making comparisons between companies in Egypt and companies here (or anything else for that matter) because I feel they are unfair comparisons. But since you are happy at Microsoft I am glad. It is a great place to work.

    Mohab – Glad you are enjoying the blog πŸ™‚ I’ll do my best to keep it updated frequently. Say hi to your wife too, and I hope you are enjoying married life πŸ™‚


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

