Working At Microsoft

October 12, 2006 at 5:33 am | Posted in Microsoft | 8 Comments

I’ve been working at Microsoft now for approximately 10 days, and I thought you guys would be interested in knowing how its going and what its like.

Some of the things that I’ve realized at Microsoft:

  • The amount of emails a person gets is a lot. It took me a while at IBM before I started receiving mails. Here, it seems I am already on a lot of distribution lists related to my job and work.
  • There is a major information overload when you first start. It is close to impossible to know what is important and what is not when you first start, so I have a tendency to think everything is important (when it might not be).
  • I have so many trainings that I am signed up for right now (I even have one scheduled for next June – as all earlier trainings for this course are packed). On top of this, there are meetings, brown-bags (informal lunches/presentations/get-togethers/discussions) and lots more. I think it will be tricky trying to manage attending trainings, going to meetings, going to lectures/presentations and actually getting some work done πŸ™‚ For example, last Friday Wozniak was at Microsoft giving a talk, and I can’t believe I did not know until it was over. It’s a shame I missed it. For a good blog entry on the Woz visit see this blog entry.
  • Oh yeah, on top of this, there is a Foosball table on my floor which I occasionally play with one of my friends here πŸ™‚ I am getting good, he is having a very hard time beating me. And on the 2nd floor of the building there is an arcade machine with Capcom vs. Marvel on it. I am not so good with that. It’s amazing to be able to just take a break from work and staring at your screen to just go and unwind with a few games. Also, I haven’t taken advantage of this yet (because I am fasting) but there are some fields on campus where people can play sports at any time.
  • The windows source code is HUGE. I was having a lot of difficulties trying to find the source of my component πŸ™‚ My mentor though managed to track someone down to point me in the right direction. My mentor actually has been a great help so far in getting settled in.

Some things that I haven’t been able to take advantage of yet:

  • The free drinks! Microsoft has refrigerators on every floor stocked with drinks for us πŸ™‚ They also have these amazing Starbucks coffee machines. Nothing like having a good cup of coffee in the morning. Unfortunately, as I am still fasting I haven’t been able to take advantage of this.
  • The cafeterias. The cafeteria itself is very good with very reasonable prices, but on top of this they recently introduced food from various restaurants from the region. So some cafeterias have Indian, Thai, Japanese, etc. Also, they have gourmet take home dinners for engineers who wish to take food home at the end of a day (or it could even be used for lunch as there is a microwave on every floor). Again, as I am fasting, and as my wife cooks delicious food at home, I haven’t been able to try this yet.
  • As Microsoft employees we get membership at the excellent Pro Sports club which is nearby to the campus. I’ve just passed by from the outside, but I hear it is very good and very big. They have 4 indoor heated pools for example. I would like to try to begin going there in the mornings and exercising after Ramadan.

That’s all for now. By the way, Microsoft will be coming to recruit again from Egypt in December. I will be meeting with some recruiters this Friday as well, so if you are interested please tell me (or leave a comment) and I can tell you how to apply, and if I know you (and I know you would be a good match) I can recommend/refer you to a recruiter.

8 Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing your experiences at MS.

    >>I can tell you how to apply
    Yeah. Please. I would like to know.

    Thanks.

  2. Well, if you are an international candidate please see this website:
    http://blogs.msdn.com/jobsblog/archive/2006/08/25/724710.aspx

    They list which countries they will be at and when and how to apply. Otherwise you will need to probably apply directly at the Microsoft Careers website.

  3. Thanks so much. Aliabdin.

  4. Hi Ali,

    Glad to know you are settling in and doing fine in MS.

    I just wanted to remind you of my previous request which is how to prepare well for this genre of interviews.

    Another question I have is if it’s possible to know when they will come to Egypt next after December?

    That will be of great help.

    Thanks in advance.
    E

  5. I will do my best to write on how to prepare for the interview as soon as possible. Sorry for the delay, but I just got so much going on right now.

    I do not know when/if they will come after December again. In 2006, they came in Feb/March and once more in May. Note though, that I doubt they will come anytime after March/April as April 1st is when the door opens for H-1B visa applications and they run out pretty quickly.

    So, for now assume they will come in December only, and if they will come another time, I will inform you here on my blog (also keep an eye out on the JobsBlog).

    Hope this helps.

  6. Hii Ali, I just want to know where they have posted the Egypt interview details, as everytime they used to send it to the Egyptian alias, but this time I didn’t receive it, do you know where they sent it?

  7. Actually, I got sent the announcement in the mail by Priya and she asked me to spread the news around. I can forward it to your MS email if you would like.

  8. Yes, forward it to me please

    Thanks πŸ™‚


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

