Power Outage – Crazy, Crazy Weather

December 17, 2006 at 8:01 pm | Posted in Personal, Seattle | 4 Comments

On Thursday night we encountered a severe “storm” in Washington State. I didn’t think much of it at the time, I just heard a lot of whistling and howling outside. There was also a lot of rain, but what’s new here in Seattle 😉

Anyway, half way through watching a DVD with my wife, the power flickered, and then went out. I thought at the time, no big deal, it’ll come back in a few hours. It turned out into a big weekend ordeal.

On Friday, we began to realize the extent of the storm. I was unable to go to work because power was down over there. It was down in all of Redmond, Bellevue, Kirkland, in fact most of King County. So I stayed home on Friday. Keep in mind there is no power anywhere. This means no hot food, no gas for the car, no traffic lights on the street, no power to the refrigerator, etc. One of the first things I did was buy some ice for the refrigerator and freezer, and then we went out to Seattle to have a hot meal. Apparently the 520 (main highway from Redmond to Seattle) was closed, but luckily as soon as we arrived at the closure point, they opened it…so it was no traffic all the way as everyone knew it was closed and turned around 🙂

Anyway, the next day (Saturday) we spent the entire day out…We had breakfast out (apparently everyone else decided to have breakfast out too)…Oh yeah, power came back to certain parts of Redmond, just not out apartment complex. It’s pretty frustrating to see the traffic lights, and gas station right next door having power, but none for us! Anyway, we also had lunch out, and spent the day at Redmond Town Center (we watched two movies at the cinema!) We got home praying that the power was back…but nothing. Plus it was freezing! Our home, by now had lost all of its insulation, and the temperature in Redmond began to go to freezing, so we spent another cold night at home.

Finally, just this morning, the power came back at 11am 🙂 You have no idea how hard it is to live without power until you actually go through it! Especially when its out for several days! I never in my life expected to go through something like this here…it was pretty frustrating, but you just got to learn to deal with it. You could read about the storm here.

So while here I’ve noticed we’ve encountered some of the craziest weather to hit Washington State:

  • November – most rain to hit the Seattle area in one month ever. We broke all records.
  • End of November – snow/ice storm that shuts down a large part of King County.
  • December – the strongest wind storm to hit Seattle in over a decade, downing  a lot of the power grid/network.

So just thought I’d mention what I’ve been going through the past few days. I so wish spring/summer would come now 🙂 Apparently, it’s beautiful here.

4 Comments

  1. And I thought power outages never happen in a country like USA!!!

  2. Believe it or not, this is the SECOND power outage I experience here (well, the first one I didn’t experience much – my wife was at home and experienced it, I was at work). The power was cut-off for several hours…but luckily, it was the day we just signed our lease, so we hadn’t moved yet…

    The problem with power outages here is, if it goes out…its pretty serious, so it may be a while…In Egypt it went out frequently but came back in usually just a few minutes…

    Oh well, hoping I have no more outages…

  3. Actually the reason for this outage that the trees went over the power lines and cut them all, as the storm was severe to the extend it removed trees from the ground and take them over the power lines

  4. Yeah – I wonder though why they don’t make more power lines underground…I also feel it was poor planning on the part of Puget Sound Energy (PSE).

    They were predicting power would be going out on all the weather stations, so I wonder why they didn’t take necessary precautions (i.e. calling in the extra work crews) until a day after the storm hit.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

