My Music Collection Obsession

December 25, 2006 at 6:33 am | Posted in Personal | 1 Comment

Apparently, I have a pretty strong obsession with my music collection. My wife went to sleep early last night, and for some reason I entered into an OCD-like state to fix the metadata of my music collection.

As I mentioned earlier in my blog, I have a Zune that I love very much. One of the nice features it has, is that when a song is playing it will show me the album art. Well, I had the Zune software automatically detect the albums for most of my songs. But I also had a large Arabic collection which the had no information. I also had some English songs that were lumped in the ‘Unknown Album’ or ‘Unknown Artist’ bucket.

In a fit of rage, I went through and added entire album art and fixed the ID3 tags of most of my English songs (Correcting album names, artists, album year, etc.) I also went through and fixed all of the Arabic too, and added some album art, although that was a MUCH more difficult task. Not many places online have the album art, so I would sometimes just use an artist picture instead. Also some songs I was unable to find an album for them, so I placed them in their own “fake” album.

Last night, I spent 5 continuous hours doing this! I could not believe my obsession with this, and the time went by quite quickly. I am much happier with my Zune now…although one final problem I have is that I don’t believe all the genre’s on the songs are correct. I’m quite bored of working on my music collection, so I will probably fix it some other time.

1 Comment

  1. šŸ™‚ u never told me that!!.. 5 hrs!!.. that must be really hard!!.. šŸ™‚ anyway.. I should take all ur english collection for my MP3 player now :-P.. I also like my collection looks cool :-), I just use the easy way to do it, šŸ˜‰ wait for some1 to fix them and then ask him to borrow it ;-)..


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

