Microsoft US Recruiting from Egypt again

January 19, 2007 at 8:25 am | Posted in Egypt, Microsoft | 10 Comments

I have good news for people in Egypt who are interested in joining Microsoft here in Redmond, Washington. Microsoft will be coming back to Egypt for one last time, before they take a break until the end of the year. They will be interviewing in Egypt sometime in March.

I do not know which team is coming to Egypt. Sorry. But the team that came to Egypt in December was part of the Developer Division (the team that works on Visual Studio and compilers, etc.) I know some people may wish to know which team they are applying for, but keep in mind, its very flexible here to change teams. In fact its encouraged usually for you to move around and find the best place for you. Plus, when they are interviewing you, they not only look for a fit in the team that is interviewing you, but they could also find you a position in a different team.

Anyway, enough of my talking…so you want to apply…what do you need to do? It is very simple. Send your resume to egyptres@microsoft.com and if you know me you can also send me your CV personally, and I can send it directly to the recruiter responsible for Egypt (with a recommendation).

Good luck and remember – 7 people got accepted last December (in my round it was only 3) so its improving. Unfortunately, nobody I knew got accepted. Hany knows all 7 of them!!! I’d really like to have someone I know get accepted this time around! So get those CVs in.

Oh yeah, and they are due by Feb 9th please as they need to take time to schedule and conduct phone interviews before they come in February.

10 Comments

  1. I wish I could apply this time round, but it looks like I have to wait till next year πŸ˜₯ . inshAllah kheir.

    PS: I am the guy who told you I know you…but dont know you. I was with u in AUC and IBM.

  2. To be honest, I’m not so good with names/faces – so while the name is familiar, I don’t recall who you are…

    But anyway, yeah typically, if you’ve gone through the interview process in December they ask that you wait a year. This is so you can gain some additional experience and be better prepared for the next time. Not much can change in a candidate in the span of a couple of months.

    Anyway, believe it or not, I don’t seem to be getting ANY CVs from my blog post πŸ˜› The only CVs I got has been me talking to friends and posting to my class’ mailing list.

  3. Hello Ali,
    I am Tarek’s friend and I have posted a comment on your blog previously. Like Tarek , I have not succeeded in the December interviews. What I understand from your blog is that MS will not come for the rest of 2007? If this is true, than we will have to wait for more than one year to get another try :(. Are there no chances of reapplying again in less than a year’s time or travelling to take the interview in another country. A guy from India was in Egypt’s December round πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Tarek – after this this March round, they will begin applying for the people who got accepted in March and December in April (as this is when the H-1B window opens). Usually due to the quota restrictions – they run out very quickly (last year they ran out in May – probably this year it will finish earlier).

    Once the H-1B visas are finished, all Microsoft can do is wait until the next year to begin applying for H-1B’s again. And this, in my personal opinion, is just too long to keep a job window open/unfilled (if you got accepted in June 2007 you would start work Oct 2008!)

    Anyway, yes you typically need to wair for a year before you re-apply so as to build experience and for there to be a reason to try again. Plus, if you do apply for somewhere in a different country, it won’t solve your visa problem/issue.

    What I could do if you would like is add your CV through our referral website which allows more recruiters to see it. My email is aliabdin and then at microsoft.com (writing it this way to avoid SPAM).

  5. Actually they are 8 not 7, and I know 7 of them too πŸ™‚ (7 of them are from my college, and 5 of the 7 are from the same year πŸ™‚

  6. Hi Ali,

    It is good to find alot of egyptions in microsoft,I’m tring to do so,i have posted my CV in decemeber but it looks like it was too late,should i post again now,or do what?

    Any Advise

  7. Hi Ali, Hello Meshref πŸ˜€
    I’m the Anonymous agin,..and i’m one of the 14…yes 14 accepted candidates.
    And i’m one of the 5 of the 7 that meshref was talking about.
    Have a great day πŸ˜‰

  8. Meshref – Cool I did not know that…All I knew came from Hany (he knew 7 accepted people) and we did not know anyone else. No one I knew got accepted.

    Ahmed Samih – I was told by the recruiter for Egypt that if you were not contacted during the December round, you should feel free to try again. You should email the egyptres@microsoft.com address and if you would like feel free to send me your CV and I will do a referral for you.

    Anonymous – Wow. 14 candidates – thats pretty good. I know they interviewed approximately 40 so 14 out of 40 is a lot better than my interview (we were 3 out of 20).

  9. Hey Ali, I’m sorry I don’t understand something. you told me to send u my CV so u can add it to the referral website. The thing is I wasn’t accepted, so Ill have to wait a year until i can reapply. What help would adding it to the referral website do?

  10. Tarek. It could help…or it might not. This one-year thing is a ‘general’ rule and might not apply in all cases.
    In my case, I had applied to the Egypt interview process, and I had applied directly to Microsoft. I actually got a phone interview and had a hiring manager interested in me (for the Microsoft Speech Server).
    Anyway, the point is, by emailing egyptres, I believe only the recruiters coming to Egypt see your resume and appropriately filter/consider you. I could be wrong, but my opinion is that it doesn’t hurt if you try multiple tracks. At worst, your situation hasn’t changed. At best, you might get another shot.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

