The Wow Starts Now

January 30, 2007 at 6:07 pm | Posted in Microsoft | 1 Comment

The Wow Starts Now. Need I say anything else?

 But seriously, Microsoft just released Vista and Office 2007. It is a great accomplishment. I went to the release party at one of the MS Cafe’s with Hany. It was packed and we decided to just leave. I watched the launch on a live webcast instead.

I wasn’t a big fan of the slogan – but its growing on me (especially as when some people challenged me to come up with something better my mind drew a blank). One of the things that I now like about the slogan that its pretty much true. If you try Vista, I guarantee you will “wow” at some of the features. Go out, buy it, and seriously give it a try. Its worth it. Every time I use XP at home I get really frustrated now. One of my absolute favorite features is the ‘Search’ feature built-in to the start menu. It is fantastic and saves a lot of time. Also, for the first time ever you can buy and download Vista online (http://windowsmarketplace.com/)

 The new Office on the other hand is great. I’ve been using the Beta at home (and the released at work) for quite a while now and I must say the new Ribbon interface simplifies a lot of things. I actually wish that Outlook would switch to the new Ribbon UI. It takes a bit of getting used to at first, but it is quite easy after that.

It’s quite an exciting time at Microsoft and for me “The Work Starts Now” 🙂 I plan on installing Vista Ultimate on my laptop sometime soon (just need to back things up first). I can’t wait to show my wife DreamScene (you can set movies as your background for the desktop). The trick is not to put a movie with a lot of movement in it. I’ve been beta testing it internally and have seen some of the potential movies for background and it is very beautiful. This will come out as an Ultimate-only extra though so you may want to get that version instead.

Have anyone of you tried Vista or Office 2007 yet? Do you plan to soon? What are your favorite features?

 UPDATE: Hany has a much better article about it (with pictures!) here. It is a must read!

1 Comment

  1. I prefer xp…..still way too many issues with vista…but I totally understand why you think it is great inspite of all its faults…love tends to blind you to too many problems.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

